Unit 5: How People Focus Their Attention

Senior Project Pre-Production

After reading Unit 5 I’m thoroughly convinced that I have Attention Deficit Disorder. Even though the reading makes no reference to ADD whatsoever, it does point out, on several occasions, that people do not have the ability to multi-task. Which is a fascinating revelation since (at least in the US) everywhere you turn is someone drinking coffee, reading email, and driving all at the same time. This unit also pointed out to me just how easy it is to be distracted, so was able to find some comfort knowing that I’m not the only one who has the attention span of a squirrel. To clear my head (no pun intended) i branched out and came across an interesting article which connects our reptilian brain to what the author calls “old brain.”

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/just-listen/201106/does-everyone-have-add-concentration-interruptus-and-pseudo-add-0

Halfalogue has officially become my new favorite word. I can’t believe that I’ve never heard this before! Nevertheless Im going to make sure that I use it on a daily basis until all my friends are familiar with the term and now there’s a word for what people annoy me with on the bus!

I think something that’s particularly important from this unit is when the author states what  grabs attention the most. From an advertising perspective its crucial to remember this:

Here’s what grabs attention the most:
• Anything that moves
• Pictures of human faces, especially if they are looking right at you
• Pictures of food, sex, or danger
• Stories
• Loud noises

Which explains and reinforces, my plan for thesis, the idea that media, advertising, and us politics are in cahoots to sell politicians, laws, and even wars to the public.

e.g. http://www.poynter.org/news/mediawire/192509/fear-undermines-an-informed-citizenry-as-media-struggles-with-attention-economy/

 

Leave a Reply

